countries that need a Visa for Cyprus

Complete list of countries whose citizens need a visa for Cyprus

If you wanted to visit Cyprus, there are plenty of things you can do and see. This tiny island has countless ancient and archaeological sites, leftover from the many empires that ruled it over the centuries. And of course, there’s the sunny, golden beaches which attract millions every year.

But, do you need a visa for Cyprus?

Whether you’re travelling for tourism, business, or visiting, you must be aware of the visa requirements for the Republic of Cyprus before you travel.

This article will detail who needs a Cyprus visa, who is exempt, as well as touch on the visa application process and requirements.

Do I Need a Visa for Cyprus?

You need a visa for Cyprus if you are from one of the following countries:

Afghanistan Algeria Angola Armenia Azerbaijan
Bahrain Bangladesh Belarus Belize Benin
Bhutan Bolivia Botswana Burkina Faso Burma/Myanmar
Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Cape Verde Central African Republic
Chad China Comoros Congo Côte d’Ivoire
Cuba Democratic Republic of Congo Djibouti Dominican Republic Ecuador
Egypt Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Ethiopia Fiji
Gabon Gambia Georgia Ghana Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti India Indonesia
Iran Iraq Jamaica Jordan Kazakhstan
Kenya Kosovo Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos
Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Madagascar
Malawi Maldives Mali Mauritania Mongolia
Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nauru Nepal
Niger Nigeria North Korea North Macedonia Northern Marianas (Islands)
Oman Pakistan Palestinian National Authority Papua New Guinea Philippines
Qatar Russia* Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia
Senegal Sierra Leone Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa
South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland
Syria Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Togo
Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Uganda Uzbekistan
Vietnam Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe

*Russia passport holders are eligible for a simplified application process known as the Cyprus Pro Visa (see below).

Cyprus Visa Exemptions

Cyprus is part of the European Union, which means that nations of all other EU Member States can freely enter Cyprus without a visa. Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway (who form the European Free Trade Association (EFTA)) are also allowed to enter Cyprus visa-free.

Additionally, even though Cyprus isn’t a part of the Schengen Area yet, it has adopted the same visa requirements as Schengen countries. This means that if you are exempt from a Schengen visa, you are also exempt from a Cyprus visa.

As such, you do not need a visa for Cyprus if you are from the following countries and you intend to stay in Cyprus for only up to 90 days within any 180-day period:


Albania* Andorra Antigua and Barbuda Argentina
Australia Bahamas  Barbados Bosnia and Herzegovina*
Brazil Brunei Canada Chile
Colombia Costa Rica Dominica El Salvador
Georgia Grenada Guatemala Honduras
Hong Kong Israel Japan Kiribati
Macau Malaysia Marshall Islands Mauritius
Mexico Micronesia Moldova* Monaco
Montenegro* New Zealand Nicaragua North Macedonia
Palau Panama Paraguay Peru
Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa
San Marino Serbia* Seychelles Singapore
Solomon Islands South Korea Taiwan Timor Leste
Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tuvalu Ukraine*
United Arab Emirates United States of America Uruguay Vanuatu
Vatican City Venezuela

*Only applies to holders of biometric passports.

Additionally, you also do not need a visa for Cyprus if you have a diplomatic, service, or official passport issued by:

  • Colombia
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Kiribati
  • Marshall Islands
  • Palau
  • Peru
  • Samoa
  • Lucia
  • Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Vanuatu
  • Τrinidad and Tobaco

Cyprus Visa Exemptions for Bulgaria, Croatia, and Romania

Cyprus along with Bulgaria, Croatia, and Romania are EU member states that have not been accepted into the Schengen Area yet.

However, the four countries have an agreement which allows visa-holders of one of those countries to enter any of the others without having to apply a separate visa.

This means that if you have a short-stay visa or a residence permit for Bulgaria, Croatia or Romania, then you can enter Cyprus without having to apply for a separate Cyprus visa.

Reciprocally, Cyprus visa or residence permit holders can also enter Bulgaria, Croatia, and Romania without a separate visa for either of those countries.

Cyprus Pro Visa

Only holders of Russian passports who are travelling with a direct flight from Russia to Cyprus are eligible for a Cyprus Pro Visa.

To get a Pro Visa, you must first complete an electronic application at the Consulate of the Republic of Cyprus. After that, you will receive a printable authorization which you can use to travel to Cyprus, where you’ll receive your entry stamp.

Do I Need a Visa for Cyprus if I Have a Schengen Visa?

No, if you already have a valid Schengen visa, you do not need a separate Cyprus visa. You can enter Cyprus with your Schengen visa, provided that the visa still has at least two entries left as well as sufficient remaining days.

Can I Enter Schengen With a Cyprus Visa?

No, since Cyprus is not part of Schengen yet, if you have a Cyprus visa, you cannot enter any country within the Schengen Area.

Do I need a Long-stay Cyprus Visa?

Yes, all non-EU/EFTA nationals have to get a long-stay visa for Cyprus if they intend to stay for longer than 90 days. Visa exemptions for non-EU/EFTA nationals only apply for short stays (less than 90 days).

In addition to a long-stay visa, foreign nationals who wish to live in Cyprus long-term also have to get a Cypriot Residence Permit.

Do I need a Cyprus Airport Transit Visa (ATV)?

You only need to obtain a Cyprus Airport Transit Visa if you are from one of the following countries:

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Iran (excluding holders of diplomatic and service passports)
  • Iraq
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Turkey

What Should I Do If I Need to Apply for a Visa to Cyprus?

If you are from a visa-required country, you must submit a Cyprus visa application in person at a Cypriot diplomatic mission (embassy or consulate) in your country or nearest to you. You will have to collect the required documents and present them at the embassy or consulate.

Cyprus visa applications via mail will only be accepted if you live a considerable length away from the diplomatic mission (over 300 km / 200 miles). If you apply by mail, you must also include a self-addressed special delivery envelope for the embassy/consulate staff to return your documents with.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.